Redcurrant Jelly Recipe


Redcurrant jelly

Originally uploaded by Mr_Chips

I love to use redcurrant jelly as an accompaniment to lamb and pheasant and this is the time of the year to make it.
Picking the redcurrants is quite a job because they hide away under the leaves. You can strip them off easily once you find them, stalks and all. You need quite a lot and we managed about 4 bowls of currants and ended up with – well, you will have to see.
Ingredients
Redcurrants this recipe is for 4 large bowls about 4 lb.
Castor sugar
Water
Wash the redcurrants and put them in a large preserving pan with about a 1 pint of water. Heat gently to release the juice and stir frequently. Cool. Pour everything into a jelly bag and hang it up over a bowl overnight. In them morning, make yourself a strong cup of tea and inspect the bowl. It doesn’t look much but you should have a lovely deep red juice. Measure it. I got 1 1/4 pints. I added 1 1/4 lbs of sugar. In other words – the same amount of sugar in lbs weight.
Put back into the preserving pan and stir with the sugar and boil. I tested the set by keeping some saucers in the freezer. I then put a drop on the saucer and put back in the freezer to cool for a moment or tro. Run your finger through and it should be jelly like. If not – keep boiling. Finally, cool and add to warmed jars.
How much did I make? From 4 large bowls of redcurrants we made 5 small jars of jelly. It seems a lot of effort for a small amount but it goes a long way and is delicious.

4 Responses

  1. Do you process your jars after filling? Since I had only one jar, I didn’t bother and I store it in the refrigerator, right up front where the light shines through it every time I open the door —after all, I want to get full value for all that work!

  2. Excellent idea. It looks so good with the light behind.

  3. Beautiful! Oh, the irony. It’s my sheep that eat my currant bush. Maybe they knew I would see this and wonder how delicious lamb with currant jelly would be.

  4. That’s very funny. I must say I prefer the redcurrant added after cooking the lamb!

Leave a Reply

