Elderflower Cordial


Elderflower Cordial

Originally uploaded by Mr_Chips

This is my favourite drink from elderflowers. It makes a wonderful summer drink diluted to taste with water.

Ingredients

20 heads of elderflowers
2 pints (1.2L) of water
3 lbs (1.3kg) of sugar
1 sliced lemon
3 oz ( 75g) citric acid

Bring the water to the boil and add the sugar and lemon. remove from the heat and stir until the sugar is dissolved. Re-boil and add the flower heads and citric acid. Bring to boil again then stand aside until cool. Bottle in air-tight bottles.

2 Responses

  1. can you please tell me where I can find elderberries growing wild please. My mum who is in her 80s and is loosing her eyesite wants to go picking elderberries as she did when she was a child. I live in Kent.

  2. A tricky question as I don’t live in Kent and I am not sure where they grow wild. I have seen them in the hedgerows but I shall try to do some remote investigations…
    Meanwhile, thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

