Flap jack

I had some delicious flapjacks from Barrow House Youth Hostel when I was training some pupils on a Gold DoE. The flapjacks kept me going for four days on the hills over Easter. I can honestly say that they were the best flapjacks in the world so if you are staying in the Lake District it would be worth youth hostelling just for that. I made them myself when I worked for YHA but never managed to make them as well as those.

6oz butter or margarine, 8ox demerra sugar, 8oz rolled oats, 4 oz raisins.
Cream the fat until soft. Mix together the sugar, oats and a pinch of salt if you must. Transfer the mixture to a baking dish which has been greased. Cook for 25 min at about 150C. Leave to cool afterwards.

Don’t leave them in the oven too long otherwise they pull your teeth filings out. You want them soft so they melt in your mouth.

Leave a Reply

